What does an insurance career in Wyoming entail? Do you need to complete education? What prerequisites are there for insurance licensure?
All these questions and even more may pop up in your mind if you want to become a licensed insurance agent in the state of Wyoming. Below you may find answers to your questions about licensing in Wyoming.
Before you start the licensing process, you must decide which type of license you need, or which license will best suit your needs and interests.
When making a choice, you should consider the advantages, job offers and conditions that the license offers.
Some applicants select two or more lines of insurance, as it is always preferable to hold several lines of authority.
This way you will be able to enlarge the circle of your clients and enjoy more chances of succeeding as an insurance agent.
The state of Wyoming does not require completing pre-licensing education as a part of the licensing process. On the contrary, you do not need to obtain a particular number of hours or credits for licensure.
Having these points in mind, you are in total control of the exam preparation and may select the learning method by yourself.
Independent study is one of the best methods of learning if you like preparing on your own and making the plan by yourself. You should schedule some time for test preparation and practice good study habits. Moreover, you may also purchase professional books and exam guides to make the process easier for you to overcome.
In spite of the fact that independent study has many advantages, approved pre-licensing courses are no less effective. Most of them offer programs to help you master the material better.
What is more, such courses provide study guides and provide you with instant access to the study material. Besides, classroom engagement adds excitement as well providing that you choose to take the classes in classroom and not online.
Once you prepare for the exam, you must take the state licensing exam and pass it. Follow this link to make an exam reservation. The examination fee is $96-$113 and it depends on the line of insurance you wish to take the exam for.
Each exam comprises of two sections- general knowledge and state-specific. Both of these sections include 135 questions altogether. The questions reflect the laws, statutes, rules and regulations for the practice of insurance in the state of Wyoming.
It is important that you arrive at least thirty minutes earlier at the testing center so that you manage to complete registration.
Another main point is bring a primary ID (Passport, Passport cards, Military ID, Alien Registration Card, driver’s license) and a secondary ID (Social Security Card, Credit or Debit Card) with you.
After successfully passing the state licensing exam, you must apply to the Wyoming Insurance Department within one calendar year. The application fee is $100.
Wyoming Insurance Department
106 East 6th Avenue Cheyenne, WY 82002
Holding a Wyoming insurance license allows one to engage legally in the practice of insurance. It grants permission to individuals to sell and negotiate insurance products and services across the state.
Furthermore, a license is the main guarantee of ensuring one’s competency, knowledge, skills, expertise and credibility.