Search and verify licenses
Sample Wyoming Driver License

Wyoming Driver License

You must get a Wyoming driver’s license if you want to operate your vehicle legally in Wyoming. Usually, you need to learn to drive, pass examinations and apply for a license. Your driver’s license is valid for ten years.

Your Wyoming Driver License application

Generally, you go through three steps when applying for a driver’s license.  You just need to bring in proof of identity to show who you are and where you live. Wyoming accepts a birth certificate, U.S passport as proof. Another requirement is that you provide your Social Security Number to your local Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

Typically, this is your social security card or a W2 form from your previous employment. And at last, you’ll need to present two documents proving your Wyoming residency. You can bring any business documentation with your complete name and current Wyoming address. It can be a pay stub, proof of insurance, utility bill, or voter registration card.

If you are a new driver, you need to take a written exam on the traffic signs and laws. If you don’t pass the first time, you can take it again the next day. You’ll also have to pass a set of road skills exams, for which you’ll require a licensed, registered, and insured car.

If you break any traffic laws, you will immediately fail the test, and the examiner will decide whether or not you may retake it.

Fees for Wyoming Driver License

You’ll have to pay a fee for your license. The cost of your license varies and depends on the type of license or permit you are going to obtain. All driver examination centers accept cash, check, or money order. Some DMV offices also accept debit or credit cards, although they charge an extra fee.

If you are at least 18 and wish to transfer your current license to Wyoming, you have one year to get a license. In fact, you must apply for your license transfer in person, in one of your local DMV offices.

You’ll be asked to take a vision test, have your photo taken, and, in certain circumstances complete a written or road skills test. If you’re requested to take a road skills test, you’ll need a car to take the test in, and it must be in the same class as the vehicle you’ll be licensed to drive.

Applicants under 18

These regulations apply to anybody applying for their first driver’s license. If you’re under the age of 17, you’ll need to get an intermediate driver’s license before getting a full license. 14-year-olds can apply for a limited learner’s permit or a hardship permit if they live too far away from their schools or employment.

Teen applicants must have a licensed driver in the car at all times. Though after 10 days of learning, they can apply for a full restricted driver’s license. This will allow them to travel within 50 miles of their registered address during the day. Teenagers between the ages of 15 and 16 can apply for a normal learner’s permit, which can then be changed to a regular driver’s license after ten days.

Wyoming Driver’s License Requirements

To apply for a first-time Wyoming driver’s license or to renew an expired Wyoming driver’s license, you must go to your local driver exam station in person. You will have your photo taken and will be required to take a vision screening test. For your application, you must bring one proof of identity, two proofs of current residency, one proof of Social Security number, and one proof of name change, if appropriate.

Restricted/Hardship Learner’s Permit

Applicants aged 14-15 can apply for a Restricted Learner’s Permit. The license is eligible for teens who fulfill one or more of the following criteria:

  • They live no more than 5 miles from the school they attend
  • Have a regular job (a minimum of 10 hours per week)
  • Work in his/her parents’ business

First, you need to complete your application form. Then, you must mail all the documents to the local DMV. You will get a mail about your application status. It may take up to 6 weeks for you to get news of approval or refusal.

Whenever the applicant/your child is accepted for a limited learner’s permit, the necessary documents must be provided to the local driving exam office to get the permit. The applicant must also pass a written exam and a vision screening. Your parent or guardian must sign your application.

Regular Lerner’s Permit

Teens, aged 15-16, can apply for a regular learner’s permit in order to learn driving. The permit may be required by the teen in order to enroll in a driving education course. It may also be given to an adult who needs to improve their driving behaviors or who requires additional practice time. The permit only allows the driver to drive a vehicle when there is another person in the front passenger seat who is at least 18 years old.

A learner’s permit is good for a year and can be renewed as many times as needed. You must, however, keep it for at least 10 days before applying for full driving rights.

Graduated Driver License/Intermediate driver’s permit

Wyoming Graduated Driver’s License or an intermediate permit is for drivers under 18 or adults who want to practice driving.  In order to get your permit, you must apply in person at your local driver exam office, relinquish your current Wyoming or out-of-state driver permit, provide the proper Real ID papers, and confirm that you have completed the required 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving time.

You can apply for  an intermediate permit if you meet the following requirements

  • At least 16 years old
  • Your learner’s permit is obtained at least 10 days ago
  • You have completed your 50 hours training course

Driver License Types in Wyoming

The sort of vehicle you drive determines the type of license you will receive. Wyoming law defines the class code depending on the kind of vehicle you are going to operate.

Wyoming grants the following classes:

  • Commercial A/B/C
  • Class “C” Vehicle
  • Motorcycle Class “M”
  • “Instruction permit” or Class “I”
  • Restricted Class “RC,” “RC-M” or “RM”
  • Class “I2″
  • Z Endorsement

What do I need to renew my driver’s license?

You can renew your Wyoming driver’s license by mail once every 10 years, according to Wyoming State Statute. You will get an application form 120 days before your license expires; however, you may renew your license at any time before that date. You must successfully pass your vision test to confirm you have good eyesight in both eyes. Your new license will arrive in 4-6 weeks from the date of renewal.

You cannot renew your commercial license by mail in case of Hazardous Materials endorsement. You must take the written exam for that endorsement. Keep in mind that each assessment is only good for five years.

The usual renewal fee for a Wyoming driver’s license is $30. The price for renewing a commercial license is $40. Motorcycles are subject to a $6 surcharge. Active duty military members do not have to pay a renewal fee.

How can I know my commercial driver’s license status?

To find out more about your CDL driving status, go to the Driver Certification website.

How much does it cost to obtain a Wyoming driver’s license?

Driver License & Permit Fees are the following:

  • Applying for Class C or Permit-$45
  • Any CDL Class- $55 – Any class CDL or CLP
  • Motorcycle License-$11
  • Application for Restricted License or Permit-$35

Amalik B

Amalik is a junior content writer. She has graduated from YSU as a pedagogy philologist of the French language. During a year of her experience as a content writer, Amalik has written content for several websites and took part in some social media campaigns. Since 2017, she has been a volunteer in PAVU being an interpreter in various events. Nowadays she is also volunteering in Children of Regions, and in the frames of some projects teaches English and French.

US License Lookup by State

US
License
Lookup
by
State